In the Beginning - The Alpha Clan

In the Beginning - The Alpha Clan

Β·

7 min read

Do you remember your first crush? Those butterflies that built a duplex inside your stomach and lived there rent-free? Those feelings when your heart always went out of rhythm and skipped beats whenever you see, hear of, or think about your crush?

Well, that's precisely how members of the Alpha Clan felt the first day we were teamed up. To say we were elated is an understatement. The excitement formed a substance, and became a member of the clan….. well, almost a full-fledged member. Little did we know that this extra member is a nomad and will soon disappear, leaving us with mere memories, like a woman deserted by her lover.

The week took off on a great foot, with the team members getting to know each other. Shortly after, we appointed our team leads, responsible for the organization throughout the boot camp. The team lead adopted the name 'Alpha Clan' on behalf of the team. This was motivation to a T!

As soon as Drey dropped our week one task (you see Drey? Keep him in mind. We will talk about him later), we all jumped on a call via Google Meet to deliberate on how to go about it. After some minutes of brainstorming, we decided to work with a Fintech brand and chose Raven Bank as a case study. We shared the tasks amongst ourselves and got to work.

One individual might be unable to express how each team member experienced while trying to accomplish their tasks. However, we can all agree on one common experience; sleep was far from us!

Remember Drey? He's the manager of the boot camp. I don't know if he is paid solely to add salt to injuries cos, OMOH! At this point, we discovered that the doctor's advice to sleep for eight hours daily could be edited, and your body would adjust. It comes with consequences later anyway (Don't say I didn't warn you. Don't follow me, please. I nor know road)

Different members of the team share their individual experiences for this week.

LUCKSON (TEAM LEAD)

Just a few days ago, my team of seven was tasked with creating a Digital Marketing plan and Content Creation for a Fintech Brand.

As the Team Lead, I needed to work with my team to ensure we delivered the best outcome.

However, when we started working on the task, it felt like Mission Impossible.

We knew we needed to work as a team to achieve the task ahead.

Every member of the team was assigned their various tasks on our first Google Meet, and we sprung into action β€” like soldiers released for battle πŸ˜€

I had sleepless nights. Most times, I worked from midnight till dawn.

We held another Google Meet call to track our progress and see what milestones we've covered. Guess what? We were on track but had to make a few corrections.

As the Team Lead, I had to allow my Assistant Team Lead, Special, to handle the project β€” she has quite a bit of experience, and her expertise came in handy.

It was also my first experience working on Slack, and the experience has been worth it.

This task has stretched me, and I'm looking forward to the next task. I'm glad to work with like-minded individuals, and I look forward to what we'll be achieving next.

SPECIAL (ASSISTANT TEAM LEAD)

Well, what can I say? This week has been an eventful one indeed.

Being a final-year Mathematics student preparing for final first semester exams and juggling my duties as an assistant team lead on this boot camp, my part-time jobs, freelancing, and studies made me discover a part of me that I didn't know existed.

I made it a point of duty to follow up each team member (I love to refer to them as Alphas, because why not?!) via WhatsApp, Slack, and calls when necessary to make sure everyone was on top of their duties.

Overall, As someone allergic to vawulence, I'd say I'm grateful for the teammates I have. They are wonderful people! I love the accountability they show and their willingness to learn and improve. It's priceless! I enjoyed working with those with task difficulties, helping them solve every issue.

Mabel

Journeying from Side hustle to Real Hustle

The welcome email from Drey (Boot camp manager) thrilled me and saturated me with much hope and a beautiful vision of becoming a hands-on Digital Marketer and Content CreatorπŸ€“. But at the same time, I was gripped by fear of the unknown 😨, but then again, we move!πŸƒπŸ½β€β™€οΈ

I was mesmerized by the aura of love that capsulated Team 5 of the Alpha Clan. The humility, understanding, and team spirit portray our team as akin to The Wakanda Spirit. I am sorry I made you wish😜.

We prepared our minds awaiting the arrival of Brother Monday until it finally arrived πŸ’“.

Oh, sorry πŸ˜’, I forgot to tell you about our unique TL (Luckson) and ATL (Special is Special πŸ’ž). They created the task breakdown and distributed it to everyone accordingly.

Omo, na here story take wΓ³wΓ³ oooo... My eyes πŸ‘€ dey high when I no take highnessπŸ₯Ή. If I feel like sleeping 😴, my mind tells me not to try it. If I disobey my mind, my spirit wakes me up by 2:am until I come to a reasonable conclusion with my task.

The journey has indeed been a stressful one, but a beautiful stress, of course. , I have learned a couple of new things just this week, and it has sprouted the happy adrenaline in me.

I am grateful to The Side Hustle Team for bringing me to this path. And to my amazing team, I love you loadsπŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ€—❀‍πŸ”₯

Kiki

Where do I start? I'll have to start from somewhere anyway.

The countdown of the boot camp started earlier, and I already had expectations I would want to gain from the boot camp.

The boot camp was to take place on Slack, and I didn't have access to the app until 3 days before the boot camp. I remember that in the flier of the boot camp, the benefits gained were already explained, so I was excited to work with a team to build a portfolio that would help us when we work in the real world.

I noticed as I signed into the boot camp on Slack I was already on different channelsπŸ˜‚. I was surprised and confused. It took me time to understand how to navigate through the channels.

Drey explained what was expected in the boot camp, and boom, the week one task came in. Did I mention that Drey said there would not be sleep at all? If you usually sleep for 6 hours, it would be reduced to 3 hours. I didn't understand until I started… It wasn't easy juggling work, school, and tasks.

I'm thankful for my team. They are the best! My assistant Team Lead, Special, was Mother Hen. I do appreciate her words of encouragement, to be honest. To the Team Lead, Luckson, thanks for the checkup, and to my other teammate, Mabel, and the rest of the team. Thanks 😊.

I had to do some research to understand the task better. Omoh! 😩😩😩 My hours of intense study were worthwhile because they afforded me more knowledge on the subject. Due to stress, I fell ill toward the end of the task. However, I struggled to meet up despite all odds, and I did.

I would say this week was more of a drilling experience. I enjoyed the incident at the end of the day because I gained a lot from the task.

Note - I think I should mention here that Kiki took almost one hour to type her experience!πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. I had to edit the write-up she sent, trying not to water down her experience.

The Alpha Clan

I'm sure you can feel and touch the love, commitment, and dedication in this clan. We had some challenges. One of our teammates had devices that chose to work effectively, but only against him, and that really slowed him down. One of us had some health challenges but was able to pull through.

We've fastened our seat belts for this ride and have decided to face the remaining weeks head-on, SO HELP US GOD!

Find our work here πŸ‘‡

docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1L3KF7sX1BqF..

docs.google.com/document/d/10VE_uei1t8q7bDP..

Β